PCA Regions for National Specialty Rotation & Board Nominating Committees

This page focuses on region definitions.  For a full summary, see “PCA Geographical Diversity Rules”.

The PCA Standing Rules currently refer to two types of regions for two separate purposes.

For purposes of rotating National Specialties across regions, Standing Rule #39 states:

The Specialty rotation , starting in 2000 , will be as follows:
2000 – Region # 2, Middle States
2001 – Region # 3, Western States
2002 – Region # 1, Eastern States

The configuration of the Regions is as follows :

East: Connecticut, D. C., Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maine, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia.

Middle: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas and Wisconsin.

West: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

For purposes of the Nominating Committee selecting a slate of Board candidates, Standing Rule #28 states:

If possible, the nominating committee shall nominate candidates from each of the following four regions:

    • Region 1 (West): Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.
    • Region 2 (Central): Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wisconsin.
    • Region 3 (East Central, Southeast):Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.
    • Region 4 (Northeast): Connecticut, Delaware, D.C., Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.